The almighty nap! Take one and regain your sanity!

By Mike Aux-Tinee

I came across this photo of these cool dogs crashed out on a couch. I wonder, what do they know that we humans don’t? 

That the almighty nap is a good thing!

I think it is about time, that we reclaim the lost art of taking a nap!

Of course, you are going to chastise me for wanting to take a nap.

You will say, naps are for little children and senior citizens with extra time on their hands.

But why are you giving me grief? There are many, many reasons for taking a nap at any age. If you do not want to take one, that is fine. I am not going to make you do anything you do not want to do. But make way, I have to grab some couch space before those pooches take the best spots!

But just in case you were wondering, here are some of the many, many reasons to take a nap.

Taking a nap can improve your health. When you are tired, your body produces a chemical called cortisol. When your body produces too much of this chemical, you are more likely to gain weight, handicap your immune systems ability to fight off germs and reduce the brain to a mushy goo. Actually, you start having trouble with learning and memory. Just ask any college student to do simple tasks after an all night cramming session.

Taking a nap can improve your mood. Have you ever come across someone some time after lunch, say between 1:30-4:30? They are grouchy, cranky or just a complete pain in the assets? Well, if that person was able to take a nap, they may not be this way!

From personal experience, this is my wheel house for taking a nap. If I am able to take one during this time, I am much more likely to play nice-nice with the other children on the play ground.

Taking a nap can improve productivity. This is especially important if you are doing something over and over again. If you are tired, you are more likely to experience errors in judgement, make mistakes and be less productive. 

I feel much better and my productivity is much higher if I am able to take a 30-60 minute nap.

Alright, what will it take? What do you need for a successful nap to occur? Well, that depends on what kind of person you are. What does it take for you to fall asleep? Then replicate those conditions! Except one thing, set an alarm. This is very important if you have a  60 minute lunch and you want to take a 30 minute nap. Also, make sure it is loud enough to wake you up!

I am able to fall asleep just about anywhere. As long as I can cover my eyes, I am out like a light.  Of course, I do prefer to take a longer nap. But anything to recharge my batteries will help me cope with the remainder of the work day will do.

If you are not convinced that taking a nap is beneficial, just try taking one. I hope you feel better.

If you are already taking naps, share your story with the others!

Peace Dudes!

Leave a Reply

