Do not kick a buffalo.

By Mike Aux-Tinee

I like to make people laugh. It is something I have always been able to do. I create my gems and dole them out like candy at Halloween. I would not say I have a comedic gift. I think its more along the lines of good timing and what I said is just what the other person needed and they laughed.

View Image

Quite often I am making fun of myself – or another animal, vegetable or mineral. Many of my jokes do require a little thought, which means the person currently residing at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, Washington D.C. would not get too many of my jokes. That is alright, I do not get him either all that much. So, it is a draw.

I am a passive observer of the human condition. I take mental notes of what I see and log them away. I never know when something I have come across may come to good use down the road. There are years and years worth of material crammed away in the dark and damp places of my mind. The difficult part is accessing the material. Maybe this is a result of an out dated filing system and getting someone to leave the lights on after hours.  Oh well.

If I ever came across a lamp with a genie inside, I would ask for people to have more laughter in their lives, ( I am holding onto the other two, just in case something does not go as planned). I do not want every human walking around laughing at everything. That would put me out of work. Not that I am currently being paid for my, (ahem) talent.

I like to try my new lines on the unsuspecting souls that come across my path. My best work is done on all days ending in ‘Y’, yesterday was great, today same thing but tomorrow, I’m not so sure about.

Why am I picking to use this metaphor in this post? The buffalo represents something that we should leave alone and if we continue to poke and prod it, doing so may cause us some problems. Just because we can do something doesn’t mean we should.There is a point when we should just cut our losses and move along.

It’s difficult to admit defeat or to say that we’ve made a mistake. But let’s be realistic, there is so much more out there to see, to learn about and to experience. If we remain stuck in the current rut and never get on with it, we are going to miss out on some very cool things.

One of the things I am very happy I’ve done is become debt free. Doing so has given me the opportunity to travel and see the world. If I would have never eliminated my debt, I would have never seen The Eiffel Tower, The Roman Coliseum, or Buckingham Palace (on the inside too!).

Staying where I was, was keeping me stranded in the middle of the desert with no hope of ever finding water or getting out. I had to make a very difficult decision and sacrifice a great deal to reach this point. Now that I see how different things are, it is my plan to keep moving forward.

I am not sure what my life will be like around the next bend in the road, but what ever happens, I still have two more genie wishes to help me along. Just in case…

If you are looking to change your life, trek off and live a life worth living, there is no better time than right now to start! And I really hope you do!

Peace Dudes.

Oh yea, about them buffaloes. Here are some other reasons you should not kick them:

Buffaloes can grow up to 6 feet 6 inches tall and 11 feet 6 inches  long. They can weigh up to 2,200 pounds. The biggest buffalo on record  weighed as much as 2,500 pounds. They can also reach a running speed of 35 miles per hour which means they will catch us in a foot race. Plus they ram each other in the head, just to get a date! Yea, how about we leave these big critters alone!

One thought on “Do not kick a buffalo.

  1. Pingback: 2011: What I have learned in one year of writing this blog. « Far Away From Here

Leave a Reply

