Simple activites to create inner peace

By Mike Aux-Tinee.

One of the things I wanted to achieve was to create more inner peace. I had several reasons for wanting to do this. One of them was because I was tired of being angry. I do not remember exactly when I stopped being happy and began to carry so much anger with me. I realized that my anger was holding me back from achieving so much more. I was not as happy as I knew I could be and I wanted that to change. The second reason, I felt so much stress and anxiety that I had a difficult time trying to relax.

The first thing I want to emphasize, is that there is no right or wrong way to find inner peace. What may work for me may not even register for you and that is alright. I do not want you to take what I am going to write and take it as the only way to achieve inner peace. Rather, I want to share what I have done and then you can take it as is or modify it to fit your life better. However –  Whatever –  I am happy that you read my post and it can help.

Here is what I did to help further inner peace and you can too.

Find/Create a sanctuary.

This is a place that you can retreat to for peace and quiet. For me, I have a favorite park that I head off to when I need to let things go. One thing I would like to stress though, if you do find a place outside, make sure you have some shade! The sun makes it difficult for me to calm down. I found being cooler helps out!

When I am here, I let my eyes wander over the green space. Not sure why, but looking at glass, concrete and so much metal does not help calm me down. I have found that the trees, white puffy clouds, grass waving in the breeze and the birds flying around are very mesmerizing and I am able to relax. If a park does not work for you, maybe there is a quite place in your house where you can do the same thing.

The important thing is to change what you look at and allow your mind to adjust to the softer images.

Focus on what is important.

When I am in  my sanctuary, I put all technology to rest. My cell phone is turned to vibrate or down to a lower ring setting. When I start off, I take some deep breaths to begin the off-gassing process. It helps me begin the transition from my hectic life and begin the transition to a calmer one.

As I begin to relax, I clear my mind. I think about nothing but what I am looking at. To sit and watch Mother Nature at work comes first, then after some time, I will usually think about something that I am working on, that is bothering me or an idea I have for another book or post. I do not think about anything else, just one thing at a time and I may even stop thinking about it and let my senses take over for a while. It just depends on the day and how I feel.

Learn to be content with your life.

One of the things I have discovered when I wanted to bring about more inner peace into my life, was that I was not happy with who I was, what I had and why I did not have more. I realized that I was not content being just Mike. Instead, I was more worried about trying to live like everyone else that I completely lost sight of who I was.

Spending time in the park, I have recognized and rediscovered that who I really am is not all that bad. That while I do have limitations –  I will never be an MLB pitcher, there are so many other things about me that are completely limitless – like my ability to write. It’s time that I learn to accept those limitations and redirect my energies onto something that I can be successful at and let go of what I will never be.

Simplify your life.

Sitting in the park – in my sanctuary, I came to understand that my life was too complex,  more than was good for me and that had to change. I was having trouble sleeping, concentrating and getting things done. There was always more on my to do list than I could actually knock out and many things would be put off until tomorrow. No surprise, this happened everyday and I never achieved what I set out to do.

I began to think about what was important and what wasn’t. I came up with a list of things that were absolute necessities; like paying the bills, eating…etc… and what wasn’t; how many more things I could own. I decided it was time to focus on and establish priorities. It was alright to let somethings go and that I did not need to micromanage every moment of my life. Once I convinced myself to do this, my stress level dropped and I regained more control over my life. Too bad Henry David Thoreau was not around!

Working on having more inner peace has helped me relax, become calmer day to day and I now take the time to stop by and spend time in my sanctuary. It’s something that you can do as well. If you have anything you’d like to contribute to the good of everyone else, please do so… I am sure they would like to hear what you have to say!

Peace Dudes!

Mike

Leave a Reply

