Inspirational quote of the week.

By Mike Aux-Tinee.

“It is the preoccupation with possessions, more than anything else, that prevents us from living freely and nobly.”-Henry David Thoreau

Thanksgiving is two weeks away and I cannot wait. There is so much that I am thankful for – for what I do and do not have. I am thankful to be healthy, to have a very cool and caring band of family and friends, and to be able to pursue my interests. I am thankful that I do not have a mountain of debt, a job that does not inspire me and the stress and anxiety that goes along with it.

What really doesn’t mean one thing to me is the start of the holiday shopping season (what I like to refer to as the silly season) beginning with Black Friday through the end of December. Without fail, there will be a story of someone who is injured trying to get into the store or someone using pepper mace to keep others from taking what they want to buy.

We have forgotten what Thanksgiving is all about. Now, many will be able to rattle off a few token meanings, but when you get right down to it, it’s become all about shopping. And for so many people, they are shopping for things that they really do not need and are making those purchases by whipping out the credit card and not paying cash.

So I have to ask you, what really matters in your life? I bet if you were or are one of the millions of Americans who have lost everything during hurricane Sandy, what is important to you today is much different than before the storm hit. Things are out, being alive is in.

It’s time to reset our priorities, to not get so caught up in the mindless consumption of more and more things and to focus on what really matters – having good health, being surrounded by our friends and family and for many on the East Coast, being alive.

Peace dudes!

Mike

Leave a Reply

